- What happens when you hit the opponent’s ball first in Pool?
- Can you hit off the 8 ball in pool?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?
- Do you lose if you don’t hit the 8 ball?
- What happens if you pocket the white ball?
- Can you shoot backwards after a foul in pool?
- What is a free shot in pool?
- What happens when you sink someone else’s ball in pool?
- Can you hit the other opponent’s ball in pool?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- What happens if you hit a ball in and scratch?
- Where does the white ball go after a scratch?
- How do you decide who breaks in the pool?
- Can you combo off your opponent’s ball?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- What happens when the black ball leaves the table?
What happens when you hit the opponent’s ball first in Pool?
When you hit your opponent’s object ball first, you forfeit your shot.
Your pocketed ball stays in.
I always thought that you must hit your own ball first no matter what.
However, if you hit your ball, then it hits the opponents which then hits your ball, it’s a legal shot..
Can you hit off the 8 ball in pool?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Do you lose if you don’t hit the 8 ball?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
What happens if you pocket the white ball?
Pocketing the Cue Ball In pool, the white ball used to drive the other balls into the pockets is called the cue ball. When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch.
Can you shoot backwards after a foul in pool?
Is it Legal to Shoot Backwards in Pool? As long as the cue ball isn’t in the string, you can shoot the ball in any direction you’d like. Just keep in mind all the requirements of a fair shot and direction won’t matter.
What is a free shot in pool?
Following a foul the table is declared ‘open’ and the oncoming player takes a ‘free’ shot. In doing so it is permissible to play onto any object ball. Any ball may be potted, including the black if it is ‘on’.
What happens when you sink someone else’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Can you hit the other opponent’s ball in pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. … The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
if you pot the white ball ” in off ” the black ball your opponent has an extra shot .
What happens if you hit a ball in and scratch?
6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. 7.
Where does the white ball go after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
How do you decide who breaks in the pool?
How to Choose Who Breaks in Pool (With Steps and Pictures)Both players select a ball and place it behind the 2nd dot.Next, Both players shoot their balls the long way on the table to see who can get closest to the short rail. … See where the balls land and determine which ball is closer to the short rail. … Determine a winner of lag.
Can you combo off your opponent’s ball?
“Combination shots are legal during league play. The shooter must strike his/her category of balls first to execute such a skill shot, and if the categories have not been determined all solid/stripe balls are neutral.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
What happens when the black ball leaves the table?
If the cue ball is potted or driven off the table, then that too is a foul. More about fouls and their consequences in blackball pool below. Any fouls on the break are ignored if the black ball is potted. If that happens the object balls are always racked again and the same player breaks.