- What happens if you scratch after the 8 ball goes in?
- Can you hit the 8 ball first?
- What are the rules for straight pool?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the break?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- Does slop count in 9 ball?
- What is the objective of 9 ball?
- Are masse shots Legal?
- Where does the ball go after a scratch?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the 9 ball?
- How do you lose in 9 ball?
- Can you combo the 9 ball to win?
- What are the rules for 10 ball?
- Do you have to call shots in 8 ball?
- What happens if you scratch in pool?
- What are the rules for 9 Ball?
- Can you intentionally scratch in pool?
- Can you shoot backwards in 8 ball?
- How do you lose in pool?
What happens if you scratch after the 8 ball goes in?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table.
Incoming player has cue ball in hand.
Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball..
Can you hit the 8 ball first?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
What are the rules for straight pool?
In straight pool, the player may attempt to pocket any object ball on the table regardless of its number or color until one object ball and the cue ball remain, at which point the other fourteen balls are replaced.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
Does slop count in 9 ball?
You win the game when you pocket the 9-ball, at any time, even on the break, provided the lowest numbered ball on the table is contacted first. … No balls need to be called. In slang terms, “slop” or “trash” (making a ball by accident) counts.
What is the objective of 9 ball?
The remaining balls are numbered 1 through 9, each a distinct color, with the 9-ball being striped yellow and white. The aim of the game is to hit the lowest numbered ball on the table (often referred to as the object ball ) and pocket balls in succession to eventually pocket the nine-ball.
Are masse shots Legal?
JUMPING BALLS AND MASSE SHOTS WILL NOT BE ALLOWED. … To execute a legal break, the breaker (with the cue ball behind the head string) must either (1) pocket a ball, or (2) drive at least four numbered balls to the rail.
Where does the ball go after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Do you lose if you scratch on the 9 ball?
The 9-ball is pocketed. This is a win unless the player scratches, in which case the 9-ball (any other available high numbered ball is adequate) is spotted and the turn passes to the opponent with ball-in-hand anywhere on the table.
How do you lose in 9 ball?
If the player misses or fouls, the other player begins his inning and shoots until he misses, fouls, or wins. the game ends when the nine ball is pocketed on a legal shot, or the game is forfeited for a serious infraction of the rules.
Can you combo the 9 ball to win?
All you need to do is be the one who sinks the 9 ball. Going in order, the nine ball is going to be the last ball on the table. You can also win by sinking the nine on a combo as long as the first ball you hit is the lowest number ball on the table.
What are the rules for 10 ball?
According to 10 ball billiard rules, the ten balls, 1 through 10, are racked at the head (front) of a standard triangle just as in 8 ball. The 10 ball is to be placed in the middle of the middle row in the rack. The object of ten ball billiards is to pocket the 10 ball legally to win the game.
Do you have to call shots in 8 ball?
Eight Ball is generally played as a call shot game, which means that before you hit a ball, you must call the shot. First you pick your shot, then you say it aloud so your opponent can hear you: “Five ball in the corner pocket” or whatever the shot is that you’re about to make.
What happens if you scratch in pool?
It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.
What are the rules for 9 Ball?
The rules are fairly simple. You aim to pot the balls in order until the 9 ball drops. Whoever pots it has won, regardless of how many of the previous balls the player was responsible for holing. Miss a shot and no balls go down, your turn is over and your opponent comes to the table.
Can you intentionally scratch in pool?
A foul is called only if the player fouls while actually stroking the cue ball, meaning a double hit of the cue ball (sometimes called double clutching). Without this rule, a player could benefit by accidentally or purposely scratching or fouling. … Anytime the cue ball goes in a pocket b.
Can you shoot backwards in 8 ball?
If you pot the nominated ball (except the black ball) it’s deemed legal and you continue with the break. … But of all the rules, one of the most protested is when your opponents sinks the white ball while making a shot – can you shoot the repositioned white ball on the “D” backwards. Well yes you can!
How do you lose in pool?
If the player pockets the 8 ball and commits a foul or pockets it into another pocket than the one designated, then the player loses the game. Otherwise (i.e., if the 8 ball is neither pocketed nor knocked off the table) the shooter’s turn is simply over, even if a foul occurs.