- Do you have to call pocket in 9 ball?
- Can you jump a ball in pool?
- What are the odds of making the 8-ball on the break?
- Do you take the ball out if you scratch?
- Do you lose in pool if you scratch on the 8 ball?
- What happens if you get the black ball in on the break?
- Can you hit any ball on 2 shots in Pool?
- What happens when you miss a ball in pool?
- Do you lose if you miss the black ball?
- Do you win pool if you hit 8 ball break?
- How do you lose the 8 ball?
- What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- Do you lose if you miss the 8-ball?
- Can you hit the 8 ball first?
Do you have to call pocket in 9 ball?
OBJECT OF THE GAME.
Nine Ball is played with nine object balls numbered one through nine and a cue ball.
On each shot the first ball the cue ball contacts must be the lowest-numbered ball on the table, but the balls need not be pocketed in order..
Can you jump a ball in pool?
Unless otherwise stated in rules for a specific game it is legal to cause the cue ball to rise off the bed of the table by elevating the cue stick on the shot, and forcing the cue ball to rebound from the bed of the table. Any miscue when executing a jump shot is a foul.
What are the odds of making the 8-ball on the break?
The data showed this happening 5.9% of the time (vs. 0.8% for a 1st-ball break). If you play under rules where making the 8 on the break is a win (e.g., in the APA league system), the 2nd-ball break might be a good option because of the huge potential payoff of winning on the break.
Do you take the ball out if you scratch?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
Do you lose in pool if you scratch on the 8 ball?
19. PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. … Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
What happens if you get the black ball in on the break?
If the black is potted, the game is restarted with a re-rack , broken by the original breaker. If the cue ball is potted on an otherwise fair break, it is a “non-standard” fault (foul) that simply ends the breaker’s turn, with no further penalties. … If no balls were potted on the break, the table remains open.
Can you hit any ball on 2 shots in Pool?
5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots). When a player gets two shots, they can pick up the white ball and place it anywhere behind the line.
What happens when you miss a ball in pool?
It is illegal and a foul to jump a cue ball over another ball by miscuing it up in the air on purpose. Accidental miscuing is not a foul unless other rules in this section are violated. 6. Anytime the cue ball goes off the table or otherwise ends up off the playing surface.
Do you lose if you miss the black ball?
a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game. … d) A player who clearly fails to make any attempt to play a ball of their own group will lose the game.
Do you win pool if you hit 8 ball break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
How do you lose the 8 ball?
If the player knocks the 8 ball off the table then the player loses the game. If the player pockets the 8 ball and commits a foul or pockets it into another pocket than the one designated, then the player loses the game.
What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot. One way or another, your turn is forfeited to the next player.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)
Do you lose if you miss the 8-ball?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
Can you hit the 8 ball first?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.