Quick Answer: What Happens If You Pocket The Cue Ball?

Do you lose if you sink the white ball?

Basically, if you sink the white ball along with the 8-ball, you lose.

Believe it or not, your victory flips into a loss.

You forfeit the game and your opponent wins.

So scratching on the 8-ball is probably the worst thing you could do in a pool game..

What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. … If you fail and put the white ball into a hole, it’s considered as a mistake (SCRATCH). If you make a fault, you are punished. The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.

What happens if the cue ball doesn’t hit anything?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.

Can you combo off your opponent’s ball?

“Combination shots are legal during league play. The shooter must strike his/her category of balls first to execute such a skill shot, and if the categories have not been determined all solid/stripe balls are neutral.

Is scratching on the 8 ball a loss?

19. PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.

What happens when you sink the cue ball?

Sinking the cue ball on break is a scratch and passes the turn to the opponent, giving them ball in hand. Pocketing the 8-Ball on the break “spots” the 8-Ball back into its original position and the breaker keeps their turn. If a ball is in the place of where the 8-Ball needs to go, it will take the closest free spot.

Is it illegal to jump a ball in pool?

Unless otherwise stated in rules for a specific game it is legal to cause the cue ball to rise off the bed of the table by elevating the cue stick on the shot, and forcing the cue ball to rebound from the bed of the table. Any miscue when executing a jump shot is a foul.

What happens when the black ball leaves the table?

If the cue ball is potted or driven off the table, then that too is a foul. More about fouls and their consequences in blackball pool below. Any fouls on the break are ignored if the black ball is potted. If that happens the object balls are always racked again and the same player breaks.

What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?

8-BALL POCKETED ON THE BREAK. If the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, the incoming player has the option of a re-rack or having the 8-ball spotted and begin shooting with ball in hand behind the headstring.

Is it possible to pocket all balls on break?

It’s pandemonium on the pool table! As the dust settles, only the cue ball remains un-pocketed. This is absurd, of course. … It’s worth noting: on a good break, all 12 balls can be expected to move a bit, so maybe they can all go into pockets if they’re positioned AND struck just right.

What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?

if you pot the white ball ” in off ” the black ball your opponent has an extra shot .

What are the odds of sinking the 8 ball on the break?

The data showed this happening 5.9% of the time (vs. 0.8% for a 1st-ball break). If you play under rules where making the 8 on the break is a win (e.g., in the APA league system), the 2nd-ball break might be a good option because of the huge potential payoff of winning on the break.

Can you hit the white ball backwards in snooker?

World rules stipulate that white ball potted of the break is one shot open table and your allowed too shoot backwards. As long as the white ball relain a behind the baulk line.

Can you shoot backwards in 8 ball pool?

If you pot the nominated ball (except the black ball) it’s deemed legal and you continue with the break. … But of all the rules, one of the most protested is when your opponents sinks the white ball while making a shot – can you shoot the repositioned white ball on the “D” backwards. Well yes you can!

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

What is the best 8 ball break?

Pool Break Shot #1. This first break is the most simple because it doesn’t require you to apply any spin to the ball. … Pool Break Shot #2. This is a fairly popular technique amongst the pool community because it’s one of the best breaks in 8-Ball Pool. … Pool Break Shot #3. … Pool Break Shot #4. … Pool Break Shot #5.Jan 23, 2017