- How do you legally pocket the 8 ball?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
- What happens if you hit 8 ball in on break?
- Is it legal to jump a ball in pool?
- What happens if you pocket the cue ball?
- Who is the best one pocket player?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- Do you lose if you hit the cue ball in after the 8 ball?
- Can you use an opponent’s ball in pool?
- Do you lose if you sink the white ball?
- Do pool balls get old?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
- What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
How do you legally pocket the 8 ball?
Eight Ball is a call shot game played with a cue ball and fifteen object balls, numbered 1 through 15.
One player must pocket balls of the group numbered 1 through 7 (solid colors), while the other player has 9 thru 15 (stripes).
THE PLAYER POCKETING HIS GROUP FIRST AND THEN LEGALLY POCKETING THE 8-BALL WINS THE GAME..
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
What happens if you hit 8 ball in on break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Is it legal to jump a ball in pool?
Unless otherwise stated in rules for a specific game it is legal to cause the cue ball to rise off the bed of the table by elevating the cue stick on the shot, and forcing the cue ball to rebound from the bed of the table. Any miscue when executing a jump shot is a foul.
What happens if you pocket the cue ball?
If an object ball drops into a pocket “by itself” as a player shoots at it, so that the cue ball passes over the spot the ball had been on, unable to hit it, the cue ball and object ball are to be replaced to their positions prior to the stroke, and the player may shoot again.
Who is the best one pocket player?
Dennis OrculloVerified Member. Best one pocket player in the world today is Dennis Orcullo, why because he is beating everyone handily.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Do you lose if you hit the cue ball in after the 8 ball?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
Can you use an opponent’s ball in pool?
As long as it is a legal shot and you make a ball of your own as well, then it is legal. Regardless if both the balls went into the same pocket and his ball went in first. … And of course if it’s not a legal shot, you lose your turn and you get a foul with the opponent getting ball-in-hand.
Do you lose if you sink the white ball?
Basically, if you sink the white ball along with the 8-ball, you lose! Believe it or not, your victory flips into a loss. You forfeit the game and your opponent wins. So scratching on the 8-ball is probably the worst thing you could do in a pool game.
Do pool balls get old?
The average billiard balls wear out after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)
What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. … The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket. If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.
What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
if you pot the white ball ” in off ” the black ball your opponent has an extra shot .