- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
- Can you shoot backwards after a foul in pool?
- What happens if you touch a ball in pool?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- What happens if the cue ball is pocketed?
- Do you lose if you hit the cue ball in after the 8 ball?
- How do you jump a ball in pool?
- Can you hit any ball on 2 shots in Pool?
- What happens if you dont touch a ball in pool?
- Is it legal to jump a ball in pool?
- What happens when you scratch and make a ball in pool?
- What happens when you hit the opponent’s ball first in Pool?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- What happens if you hit 8 ball in on break?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball and the white ball in?
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first.
The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table.
If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH).
You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole..
Can you shoot backwards after a foul in pool?
Is it Legal to Shoot Backwards in Pool? As long as the cue ball isn’t in the string, you can shoot the ball in any direction you’d like. Just keep in mind all the requirements of a fair shot and direction won’t matter.
What happens if you touch a ball in pool?
That is, touching or moving any ball other than the cue ball would not be a foul unless it changes the outcome of the shot by either touching another ball or having any ball, including the cue ball, going through the area originally occupied by the moved ball.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens if the cue ball is pocketed?
It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.
Do you lose if you hit the cue ball in after the 8 ball?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
How do you jump a ball in pool?
In order to jump the cue ball, elevate the back of your cue stick to 45 degrees and then shoot down, through the center, of the cue ball. Follow straight through the ball (don’t jerk back on contact.) This will cause the cue ball to jump.
Can you hit any ball on 2 shots in Pool?
5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots). When a player gets two shots, they can pick up the white ball and place it anywhere behind the line.
What happens if you dont touch a ball in pool?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.
Is it legal to jump a ball in pool?
Unless otherwise stated in rules for a specific game it is legal to cause the cue ball to rise off the bed of the table by elevating the cue stick on the shot, and forcing the cue ball to rebound from the bed of the table. Any miscue when executing a jump shot is a foul.
What happens when you scratch and make a ball in pool?
From section 5 of the bank pool rules, 5.2 Any scratch or foul ends the shooter’s inning, and a penalty of one ball is charged. 3.9 Standard Fouls If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface.
What happens when you hit the opponent’s ball first in Pool?
When you hit your opponent’s object ball first, you forfeit your shot. Your pocketed ball stays in. I always thought that you must hit your own ball first no matter what. However, if you hit your ball, then it hits the opponents which then hits your ball, it’s a legal shot.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)
What happens if you hit 8 ball in on break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball and the white ball in?
If you are playing 8 ball pool by International rules, then it means that the player, who pocketed the balls, has lost. Because the rule says, if you pocket the white ball after pocketing the black (in 8 ball pool) you have lost. … As long as the 8 ball is still in play… meaning not in a pocket…the game is still on.