Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball.
the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball.
combo’s you must hit one of your balls first.
an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball..
What happens if you sink the white ball when you’re on the black ball
if you pot the white ball ” in off ” the black ball your opponent has an extra shot .
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Can you purposely scratch in pool
A foul is called only if the player fouls while actually stroking the cue ball, meaning a double hit of the cue ball (sometimes called double clutching). Without this rule, a player could benefit by accidentally or purposely scratching or fouling. … Anytime the cue ball goes in a pocket b.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool
Hitting your opponent’s ball in any pool game is never a good idea, and no matter what game you’re playing, you will get a penalty if you hit the other player’s ball into a pocket. Some games even go as far as giving you a penalty if the cue ball even touches their ball before it touches anything else.
What determines a scratch in pool
The Definition of A Scratch In Pool A scratch is broadly defined as a cue ball driven off the table or pocketed. … If a pocket is filled with object balls and the cue ball touches one of these balls, it is considered a scratch.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponents ball first
The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). … The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing. He will have an easy shot.
What happens when you hit the opponent’s ball first in Pool
When you hit your opponent’s object ball first, you forfeit your shot. Your pocketed ball stays in. I always thought that you must hit your own ball first no matter what. However, if you hit your ball, then it hits the opponents which then hits your ball, it’s a legal shot.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Can you leave pool balls on the table
Absolutely! There is no real issue with storing the pool balls on the surface of the pool table. After all, balls are designed to be on the table. If you leave them racked up so they are not rolling about (a common problem if your table is not completely level) then it is completely fine to do.
Can you use opponent’s ball in pool
In pool, can you hit your opponents ball after you have touched your own object ball? … As long as your own ball is hit first then the only way you foul would be a cue ball scratch, 8 ball being sunk (a loss), any ball jumping off the table (if it is the 8 ball, then it is a loss). Otherwise, it is a legal shot.
Do you pull a ball when you scratch in pool
From section 5 of the bank pool rules, 5.2 Any scratch or foul ends the shooter’s inning, and a penalty of one ball is charged. 3.9 Standard Fouls If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface.
What happens if you scratch after hitting the 8 ball in
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
What happens if you hit a ball in and scratch
6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. 7.
Can you shoot backwards after a foul in pool
Is it Legal to Shoot Backwards in Pool? As long as the cue ball isn’t in the string, you can shoot the ball in any direction you’d like. Just keep in mind all the requirements of a fair shot and direction won’t matter.