- Who breaks first in snooker?
- Which ball is worth the most points in English snooker?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
- Is scratching on the 8 ball a loss?
- Does the ball have to hit the wall in pool?
- Do you have to hit a rail in snooker?
- Is 9 ball a call shot game?
- Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Can you use an opponent’s ball in pool?
- What happens if you pocket the white ball?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
- What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
- Can you hit backwards in snooker?
- What happens if you sink the black ball off the break?
- Can you shoot backwards in 8 ball pool?
- Do you have to hit a cushion in 9 ball?
Who breaks first in snooker?
BBC Sport Academy | Other Sport | Snooker | Breaking those balls.
Before the game, a coin is tossed to decide who has the option of breaking first.
If you win the toss it’s always best to break first..
Which ball is worth the most points in English snooker?
Black ballBlack ball which is worth 7 points,has the most points in English Snooker.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
Is scratching on the 8 ball a loss?
19. PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.
Does the ball have to hit the wall in pool?
A rail must be hit by either the cue ball or any other ball after the cue ball contacts the object ball. A pocketed ball counts as a rail. A sentence that should answer many questions is: “ANY ball must go to a rail AFTER LEGAL contact unless your ball is made.”
Do you have to hit a rail in snooker?
In snooker, there is no requirement that any ball hit a rail on be pocketed. Many “snookers” are played by very gently rolling up to, and “just” touching an object ball.
Is 9 ball a call shot game?
Nine Ball is played with nine object balls numbered one through nine and a cue ball. … After a miss, the incoming player must shoot from the position left by the previous player, but after any foul the incoming player may start with the cue ball anywhere on the table. Players are not required to call any shot.
Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
Rule 1 – After the cue ball has made contact with the object ball a ball must touch a cushion after contact or the legal object ball must be potted. If the legal object is potted you do not need to hit a cushion after contact with the object ball.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Can you use an opponent’s ball in pool?
As long as it is a legal shot and you make a ball of your own as well, then it is legal. Regardless if both the balls went into the same pocket and his ball went in first. … And of course if it’s not a legal shot, you lose your turn and you get a foul with the opponent getting ball-in-hand.
What happens if you pocket the white ball?
Pocketing the Cue Ball In pool, the white ball used to drive the other balls into the pockets is called the cue ball. When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
if you pot the white ball ” in off ” the black ball your opponent has an extra shot .
What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Can you hit backwards in snooker?
If you play the 2 shot rule, you cannot shoot backwards. This changes from person to person/area to area. Best just display the rules, and everybody conforms to whatever is displayed. anyway check this Snooker Rules … plus other links within…
What happens if you sink the black ball off the break?
Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. … When a player pockets a called ball following the break, that’s when you choose whether you’re solids or stripes.
Can you shoot backwards in 8 ball pool?
If you pot the nominated ball (except the black ball) it’s deemed legal and you continue with the break. … But of all the rules, one of the most protested is when your opponents sinks the white ball while making a shot – can you shoot the repositioned white ball on the “D” backwards. Well yes you can!
Do you have to hit a cushion in 9 ball?
You are not required to hit any other ball or cushion while playing a push out. If a ball is potted it stays down, unless it is the 9 ball, in which case it is re-spotted.