- What balls can you hit after a scratch?
- Can you purposely scratch in pool?
- What happens if u scratch on the 8 ball?
- What happens if ball goes off table in pool?
- What happens if you scratch on the break?
- What happens if you make a stripe and solid on the break?
- Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
- Can you sink every ball on break?
- Do you win if you make 8 ball on break?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- How do you lose on the 8 ball?
- Does the 8 ball go on the dot?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- What happens if you scratch on the 9 ball?
- What are the rules for 10 ball?
- What happens if the white ball goes in before the black?
- What happens if you miss the 8 ball on the last shot?
What balls can you hit after a scratch?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch.
The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket.
The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket..
Can you purposely scratch in pool?
A foul is called only if the player fouls while actually stroking the cue ball, meaning a double hit of the cue ball (sometimes called double clutching). Without this rule, a player could benefit by accidentally or purposely scratching or fouling. … Anytime the cue ball goes in a pocket b.
What happens if u scratch on the 8 ball?
In 8-ball, if you’re trying to pocket the 8 ball, it’s loss of game. If you pocket an object ball and scratch, you lose your turn but the object ball you pocketed stays in, so scratching becomes part of the game strategy since usually a pocketed object ball is worth loss of turn.
What happens if ball goes off table in pool?
OBJECT BALLS JUMPED OFF THE TABLE. If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game.
What happens if you scratch on the break?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
What happens if you make a stripe and solid on the break?
If both a solid and a stripe ball fall on the break the table is considered as still “open” and you have your choice. Furthermore, if only 1 ball falls on the break, the table is still “open” until the shooter makes another ball of either suit.
Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.
Can you sink every ball on break?
Rossman: There was a study done many years ago of 10,000 breaks by a conditioned environment in the game of nine-ball. And a ball went in on the break about once every three racks. So, Rossman says sinking even one ball isn’t a sure thing—even for the pros.
Do you win if you make 8 ball on break?
An automatic win for the player breaking, however, if the cue ball is scratched when making the 8-ball on the break, the opponent wins the game. Option #2. The breaker may ask for a rerack or have the 8-ball spotted and continue shooting.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
How do you lose on the 8 ball?
Pocketing the 8 ball If the player knocks the 8 ball off the table then the player loses the game. If the player pockets the 8 ball and commits a foul or pockets it into another pocket than the one designated, then the player loses the game.
Does the 8 ball go on the dot?
The eight ball will always be placed in the center of the rack. 4. Begin on the end of the table with the racking dot. If there is not one, then pick a side you would like to rack from.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
if you pot the white ball ” in off ” the black ball your opponent has an extra shot .
What happens if you scratch on the 9 ball?
2. If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table, or the requirements of the opening break are not met, it is a foul, and the incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. … However, if the cue ball is scratched when making the nine ball, the nine ball is respotted.
What are the rules for 10 ball?
According to 10 ball billiard rules, the ten balls, 1 through 10, are racked at the head (front) of a standard triangle just as in 8 ball. The 10 ball is to be placed in the middle of the middle row in the rack. The object of ten ball billiards is to pocket the 10 ball legally to win the game.
What happens if the white ball goes in before the black?
If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
What happens if you miss the 8 ball on the last shot?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.