- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- What happens if you hit the cue ball in with the 8 ball?
- Do you have to name a pocket for the black ball in pool?
- Is missing the eight ball a scratch?
- What happens if you hit a ball in and scratch?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Does a pool ball have to hit a wall?
- Can you purposely foul in pool?
- Do you have to call the pocket for the 8 ball in pool?
- Do you lose in pool if you don’t hit the 8 ball?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
- Do you have to call every pocket in pool?
- What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- Does the 8 ball go on the dot?
- What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
- Can you use an opponent’s ball in pool?
- Can you hit the black ball in 8-ball pool?
Is ball in hand a real rule?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.).
What happens if you hit the cue ball in with the 8 ball?
2 Answers. Therefore, you would lose because you scratch the cue ball into the pocket while pocketing the 8 ball.
Do you have to name a pocket for the black ball in pool?
BLACK BALL Failure of the player to nominate a pocket under any circumstances is Game Away. Two players cannot nominate the same pocket. If a player pots their last ball, and in doing so commits a foul stroke, they must then nominate their pocket for black, prior to their opponent taking their shot.
Is missing the eight ball a scratch?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
What happens if you hit a ball in and scratch?
6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. 7.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Does a pool ball have to hit a wall?
A rail must be hit by either the cue ball or any other ball after the cue ball contacts the object ball. A pocketed ball counts as a rail. A sentence that should answer many questions is: “ANY ball must go to a rail AFTER LEGAL contact unless your ball is made.”
Can you purposely foul in pool?
So long as a player plays his own object ball on first contact, or via a cushion, with the cue ball in a given shot, a ‘Deliberate Foul’ cannot be called.
Do you have to call the pocket for the 8 ball in pool?
You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop.
Do you lose in pool if you don’t hit the 8 ball?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
Hitting your opponent’s ball in any pool game is never a good idea, and no matter what game you’re playing, you will get a penalty if you hit the other player’s ball into a pocket. Some games even go as far as giving you a penalty if the cue ball even touches their ball before it touches anything else.
Do you have to call every pocket in pool?
In the World Pool-Billiard Association rules of 8-Ball, you only call one ball and one pocket on each shot. As long as that ball falls into that pocket, your turn continues. If it does not, your turn ends and your opponent takes over. Any balls that fall into pockets on your shot stay in the pockets.
What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
if you pot the white ball ” in off ” the black ball your opponent has an extra shot .
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Does the 8 ball go on the dot?
The eight ball will always be placed in the center of the rack. 4. Begin on the end of the table with the racking dot. If there is not one, then pick a side you would like to rack from.
What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. … The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket. If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.
Can you use an opponent’s ball in pool?
As long as it is a legal shot and you make a ball of your own as well, then it is legal. Regardless if both the balls went into the same pocket and his ball went in first. … And of course if it’s not a legal shot, you lose your turn and you get a foul with the opponent getting ball-in-hand.
Can you hit the black ball in 8-ball pool?
You may strike any object ball at this point, whether it is striped or solid. It is even legal to strike the 8-ball when the table is open—but don’t pocket the 8-ball.