- Do you lose if you miss the 8 ball?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- What happens if you hit an opponent’s ball in pool?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?
- Do you have to call the pocket on the 8 ball?
- Do you lose if you sink the white ball?
- Who is the best one pocket player?
- Do you have to call every shot in pool?
- Where does the ball go after being scratched?
- What happens if you pocket the cue ball?
- Do you lose if you miss the black ball?
- What does an 8 ball stand for?
- Do you have to call pocket in 9 ball?
- What are the rules for one pocket?
- Are masse shots Legal?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- How do you legally pocket the 8 ball?
- What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- Do pool balls get old?
- Can you change the pocket you call in pool?
Do you lose if you miss the 8 ball?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch.
Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul.
A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation..
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)
What happens if you hit an opponent’s ball in pool?
Hitting your opponent’s ball in any pool game is never a good idea, and no matter what game you’re playing, you will get a penalty if you hit the other player’s ball into a pocket. Some games even go as far as giving you a penalty if the cue ball even touches their ball before it touches anything else.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. … The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing. He will have an easy shot.
Do you have to call the pocket on the 8 ball?
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.
Do you lose if you sink the white ball?
Basically, if you sink the white ball along with the 8-ball, you lose! Believe it or not, your victory flips into a loss. You forfeit the game and your opponent wins. So scratching on the 8-ball is probably the worst thing you could do in a pool game.
Who is the best one pocket player?
Dennis OrculloVerified Member. Best one pocket player in the world today is Dennis Orcullo, why because he is beating everyone handily.
Do you have to call every shot in pool?
Eight Ball is generally played as a call shot game, which means that before you hit a ball, you must call the shot. First you pick your shot, then you say it aloud so your opponent can hear you: “Five ball in the corner pocket” or whatever the shot is that you’re about to make.
Where does the ball go after being scratched?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens if you pocket the cue ball?
If an object ball drops into a pocket “by itself” as a player shoots at it, so that the cue ball passes over the spot the ball had been on, unable to hit it, the cue ball and object ball are to be replaced to their positions prior to the stroke, and the player may shoot again.
Do you lose if you miss the black ball?
d. When the player fails to pot a ball on the first or subsequent shot of the first visit, play then continues with the second visit. a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game.
What does an 8 ball stand for?
An 8 ball (also commonly called eight ball) is approximately an eighth of an ounce (ranging from 3 to 3.5 grams) of an illegal drug, most often cocaine.
Do you have to call pocket in 9 ball?
OBJECT OF THE GAME. Nine Ball is played with nine object balls numbered one through nine and a cue ball. On each shot the first ball the cue ball contacts must be the lowest-numbered ball on the table, but the balls need not be pocketed in order.
What are the rules for one pocket?
Starting player must (1) legally pocket an object ball into his targeted pocket, or (2) cause the cue ball to contact an object ball and after contact, at least one object ball must contact a cushion. Failure to do so is a foul. Note: The cue ball does not have to strike a rail on the opening break.
Are masse shots Legal?
JUMPING BALLS AND MASSE SHOTS WILL NOT BE ALLOWED. … To execute a legal break, the breaker (with the cue ball behind the head string) must either (1) pocket a ball, or (2) drive at least four numbered balls to the rail.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
How do you legally pocket the 8 ball?
Eight Ball is a call shot game played with a cue ball and fifteen object balls, numbered 1 through 15. One player must pocket balls of the group numbered 1 through 7 (solid colors), while the other player has 9 thru 15 (stripes). THE PLAYER POCKETING HIS GROUP FIRST AND THEN LEGALLY POCKETING THE 8-BALL WINS THE GAME.
What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
8-BALL POCKETED ON THE BREAK. If the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, the incoming player has the option of a re-rack or having the 8-ball spotted and begin shooting with ball in hand behind the headstring.
Do pool balls get old?
The average billiard balls wear out after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
Can you change the pocket you call in pool?
1 Answer. In BCA eight ball each players calls ball on pocket on each shot and each shot is considered different. The choice of pocket from the player’s previous shot has no effect on the choice of pocket for the current shot for any of the balls, including the eight ball.