Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot.
If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop.
The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple..
What happens if ball goes off table in pool
OBJECT BALLS JUMPED OFF THE TABLE. If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool
8-BALL POCKETED ON THE BREAK. If the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, the incoming player has the option of a re-rack or having the 8-ball spotted and begin shooting with ball in hand behind the headstring.
Do you lose if you scratch on your last ball
The answer is no, this shot does not cause loss of game. The reason is that a single shot is not technically over (the shot on the second last ball, the ball before the 8 ball) until all balls on the table have come to rest, including the cue ball.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
Can you purposely scratch in pool
A foul is called only if the player fouls while actually stroking the cue ball, meaning a double hit of the cue ball (sometimes called double clutching). Without this rule, a player could benefit by accidentally or purposely scratching or fouling. … Anytime the cue ball goes in a pocket b.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
What happens if you scratch after hitting the 8 ball in
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Where does the cue ball go after a scratch
If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball.
Can you leave pool balls on the table
Absolutely! There is no real issue with storing the pool balls on the surface of the pool table. After all, balls are designed to be on the table. If you leave them racked up so they are not rolling about (a common problem if your table is not completely level) then it is completely fine to do.
What happens if you hit the black ball off the table
LOSS OF GAME A player going in off the 8 ball (black) when the 8 ball (black) is pocketed, loses the game. A player pocketing the 8 ball (black) and any other ball on the same shot will lose the game.
Do you lose if you miss the 8 ball
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
What are the rules for breaking in pool
To make a legal break, the player must hit the balls and ensure that four balls hit cushions and that the cue ball doesn’t go down a pocket. If the 8-ball is potted on the break, the player is entitled to ask for a re-rack.
What happens if you make a stripe and solid on the break
If both a solid and a stripe ball fall on the break the table is considered as still “open” and you have your choice. Furthermore, if only 1 ball falls on the break, the table is still “open” until the shooter makes another ball of either suit.
What balls can you hit after a scratch
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.
Do you have to call every shot in pool
Eight Ball is generally played as a call shot game, which means that before you hit a ball, you must call the shot. First you pick your shot, then you say it aloud so your opponent can hear you: “Five ball in the corner pocket” or whatever the shot is that you’re about to make.
What happens if you miss the black ball in pool
LOSS OF GAME a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game. b) A player going in off the black ball when the black ball is pocketed loses the game.