Are you supposed to get the 8 ball in
Rule 3.8c says that the shooter loses if he pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket.
Furthermore, Rule 3.6 says that every shot must be called (except for the break) AND says that “The eight ball may be called only after the shot on which the shooter’s group has been cleared from the table.”.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
How do you hit all the balls in 8 ball pool
Start by placing the cue ball all the way to the right on the Baulk line and aim directly at the fourth ball. Make sure your guidelines make a nice L shape. Add a bit of a backspin, bring the striking point every-so-slightly to the left, draw back your pool stick, and hit it with full force!
Can you hit an opponent’s ball into the 8 ball
APA: You lose if you scratch and/or if you pocket the 8-ball illegally (In a pocket you did not call, or hit one of your opponent’s balls first and make the 8), but you do not lose otherwise if you foul. … There is only one way to win 8-ball, that is to pocket the 8 ball legally into a called pocket.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball in
If you make a direct strike on the 8-ball, you lose your turn and any pocketed balls remain pocketed. Your opponent can continue play on the open table at this point. Looking for more fun games for your kids?
Where does the ball go after being scratched
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Do pool balls get old
The average billiard balls wear out after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball
Table Scratch. When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
What happens if you call the wrong pocket on the 8-ball
You win the game when you pocket all of the balls in your assigned group and then pocket the 8-ball without scratching or committing a foul. 14. You lose the game if you: … pocket the 8-ball in the wrong (non called) pocket.
What if you hit the eight ball in and then scratch
In 8-ball, if you’re trying to pocket the 8 ball, it’s loss of game. If you pocket an object ball and scratch, you lose your turn but the object ball you pocketed stays in, so scratching becomes part of the game strategy since usually a pocketed object ball is worth loss of turn.
Do you have to hit your own ball first in 8 ball
For the break shot to be legal, the breaker (with the base of the cue ball placed anywhere behind the head string) must either pocket a number ball or drive at least four (4) number balls to one or more rails. No ball is called, and the cue ball is not required to hit any particular object ball first.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black
if you pot the white ball ” in off ” the black ball your opponent has an extra shot .
Can the white ball go in after the 8 ball
If you are playing 8 ball pool by International rules, then it means that the player, who pocketed the balls, has lost. Because the rule says, if you pocket the white ball after pocketing the black (in 8 ball pool) you have lost. … As long as the 8 ball is still in play… meaning not in a pocket…the game is still on.
What happens if you pocket the cue ball
If an object ball drops into a pocket “by itself” as a player shoots at it, so that the cue ball passes over the spot the ball had been on, unable to hit it, the cue ball and object ball are to be replaced to their positions prior to the stroke, and the player may shoot again.