- Do you pull a ball when you scratch in pool?
- What happens if you scratch after hitting the 8 ball in?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Do you have to call every shot in pool?
- What balls can you hit after a scratch?
- What happens if you scratch the cue ball?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the break?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
- What happens if you miss the black ball in pool?
- Can you leave pool balls on the table?
- Do you have to move the cue ball on a scratch?
- What happens if the white ball goes in before the black?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
- What happens if you miss the 8 ball on the last shot?
- Are masse shots Legal?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- Where do you put the white ball after a scratch?
- Can you place the white ball anywhere in pool?
Do you pull a ball when you scratch in pool?
From section 5 of the bank pool rules, 5.2 Any scratch or foul ends the shooter’s inning, and a penalty of one ball is charged.
3.9 Standard Fouls If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent.
The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface..
What happens if you scratch after hitting the 8 ball in?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Do you have to call every shot in pool?
Eight Ball is generally played as a call shot game, which means that before you hit a ball, you must call the shot. First you pick your shot, then you say it aloud so your opponent can hear you: “Five ball in the corner pocket” or whatever the shot is that you’re about to make.
What balls can you hit after a scratch?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.
What happens if you scratch the cue ball?
3.20 CUE BALL SCRATCH It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
Hitting your opponent’s ball in any pool game is never a good idea, and no matter what game you’re playing, you will get a penalty if you hit the other player’s ball into a pocket. Some games even go as far as giving you a penalty if the cue ball even touches their ball before it touches anything else.
What happens if you miss the black ball in pool?
LOSS OF GAME a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game. b) A player going in off the black ball when the black ball is pocketed loses the game.
Can you leave pool balls on the table?
Absolutely! There is no real issue with storing the pool balls on the surface of the pool table. After all, balls are designed to be on the table. If you leave them racked up so they are not rolling about (a common problem if your table is not completely level) then it is completely fine to do.
Do you have to move the cue ball on a scratch?
1. On the break, the first shot of the game, the cue ball must be played from behind the head string (i.e., in the “kitchen”). If an object ball is pocketed on the break, you get to continue with your turn, unless you scratch (i.e., you pocket the cue ball) on the break.
What happens if the white ball goes in before the black?
If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. … If you fail and put the white ball into a hole, it’s considered as a mistake (SCRATCH). If you make a fault, you are punished. The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing.
What happens if you miss the 8 ball on the last shot?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
Are masse shots Legal?
JUMPING BALLS AND MASSE SHOTS WILL NOT BE ALLOWED. … To execute a legal break, the breaker (with the cue ball behind the head string) must either (1) pocket a ball, or (2) drive at least four numbered balls to the rail.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent.
Where do you put the white ball after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Can you place the white ball anywhere in pool?
The white ball should be placed anywhere behind the service line on the table. If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break. After that, the break is taken in turns.