- What is a free shot in pool?
- Can you sink the white ball on purpose?
- What happens if you miss the black ball in pool?
- Do you lose if you miss the 8 ball?
- Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
- Can you shoot backwards after a foul in pool?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
- Can you hit the eight ball first?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- How does 2 shots work in pool?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- Can you have 2 shots on the black ball in pool?
- Can you put the white ball anywhere in pool?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?
- What happens if the cue ball goes in?
- Can you hit others balls in pool?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
What is a free shot in pool?
Following a foul the table is declared ‘open’ and the oncoming player takes a ‘free’ shot.
In doing so it is permissible to play onto any object ball.
Any ball may be potted, including the black if it is ‘on’..
Can you sink the white ball on purpose?
The cue ball is not an object ball itself and is not intended to be shot into a pocket intentionally, although it does happen. If your opponent does pocket the cue ball, whether by accidental or on purpose, then their turn is over and whatever pool foul/scratch rules you are using will apply.
What happens if you miss the black ball in pool?
LOSS OF GAME a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game. b) A player going in off the black ball when the black ball is pocketed loses the game.
Do you lose if you miss the 8 ball?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
Rule 1 – After the cue ball has made contact with the object ball a ball must touch a cushion after contact or the legal object ball must be potted. If the legal object is potted you do not need to hit a cushion after contact with the object ball.
Can you shoot backwards after a foul in pool?
Is it Legal to Shoot Backwards in Pool? As long as the cue ball isn’t in the string, you can shoot the ball in any direction you’d like. Just keep in mind all the requirements of a fair shot and direction won’t matter.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
Hitting your opponent’s ball in any pool game is never a good idea, and no matter what game you’re playing, you will get a penalty if you hit the other player’s ball into a pocket. Some games even go as far as giving you a penalty if the cue ball even touches their ball before it touches anything else.
Can you hit the eight ball first?
BCA rules say yes, when the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
if you pot the white ball ” in off ” the black ball your opponent has an extra shot .
How does 2 shots work in pool?
In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots). When a player gets two shots, they can pick up the white ball and place it anywhere behind the line.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Can you have 2 shots on the black ball in pool?
Do I have two shots on the black ball? With blackball you get 2 shots (or 1 free shot) after your foul, so after having already played your free shot you only have 1 shot remaining on the black ball. With eight-ball you have 2 visits after the foul.
Can you put the white ball anywhere in pool?
The white ball should be placed anywhere behind the service line on the table. If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break. After that, the break is taken in turns.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
What happens if the cue ball goes in?
Balls must remain in a pocket to count as pocketed. If a ball goes into a pocket and bounces back on to the playing surface, it is not considered pocketed. If it is the 8-ball, it is not a win. If it is the cue ball, it is not a scratch.
Can you hit others balls in pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.