- Do you lose if you hit the white ball in on the break?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- What happens when you call the wrong pocket in pool?
- Do you have to call pocket in 9 ball?
- What happens if you miss the 8 ball on the last shot?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- What happens if you hit the white ball in after the 8 ball?
- Can you hit another ball on 8 Ball?
- What happens if you sink the cue ball?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?
- Do pool balls get old?
- Do you have to hit your ball first in 8 ball?
- Can you hit opposite ball in pool?
- Where does the ball go after being scratched?
Do you lose if you hit the white ball in on the break?
Break Scratch When a player scratches on the break, any pocketed balls remain pocketed, the offending player loses the turn, and the opposing player can shoot from anywhere behind the head string..
Is ball in hand a real rule?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)
What happens when you call the wrong pocket in pool?
You win the game when you pocket all of the balls in your assigned group and then pocket the 8-ball without scratching or committing a foul. 14. You lose the game if you: … pocket the 8-ball in the wrong (non called) pocket.
Do you have to call pocket in 9 ball?
OBJECT OF THE GAME. Nine Ball is played with nine object balls numbered one through nine and a cue ball. On each shot the first ball the cue ball contacts must be the lowest-numbered ball on the table, but the balls need not be pocketed in order.
What happens if you miss the 8 ball on the last shot?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent.
What happens if you hit the white ball in after the 8 ball?
If you are playing 8 ball pool by International rules, then it means that the player, who pocketed the balls, has lost. Because the rule says, if you pocket the white ball after pocketing the black (in 8 ball pool) you have lost. … As long as the 8 ball is still in play… meaning not in a pocket…the game is still on.
Can you hit another ball on 8 Ball?
You can only hit the 8-ball as part of a combination shot at this point during the game. If you make a direct strike on the 8-ball, you lose your turn and any pocketed balls remain pocketed. Your opponent can continue play on the open table at this point.
What happens if you sink the cue ball?
During the Game Under standard 8-ball rules, if a player sinks the cue ball during her turn, play is passed over to her opponent, who is allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table for his next shot.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. … The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing. He will have an easy shot.
Do pool balls get old?
The average billiard balls wear out after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
Do you have to hit your ball first in 8 ball?
(Defined) On all shots (except on the break and when the table is open), the shooter must hit one of his group of balls first and (1) pocket a numbered ball, or (2) cause the cue ball or any numbered ball to contact a rail.
Can you hit opposite ball in pool?
Yes, when your cue ball make contact with your own object ball, it can make contact with opponent object ball. For 8-ball and 9-ball pool, which require to call pocket, accidental potting of opponent will return the turn back to your opponent.
Where does the ball go after being scratched?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.