- What is the rule when you scratch in pool?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
- What happens if you don’t hit the 8-ball?
- Can you chip the ball in pool?
- What happens if you scratch after hitting the 8 ball in?
- What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
- Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
- Does the 8 ball go on the dot?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- What happens if you miss the 8 ball on the last shot?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- Can you play off opponents ball in 8-ball?
- Can you scratch on the break in 8 ball?
- Can you scratch on purpose in pool?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- Do you have to call every shot in pool?
- Can you leave pool balls on the table?
What is the rule when you scratch in pool?
In almost every version of 8-ball pool, scratching is considered a foul when shooting at object balls other than the 8 ball.
When scratching on an 8 ball shot, the offending player forfeits the game to his or her opponent and the game is over.
However, it is only a loss if the 8 ball is no longer in play..
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
What happens if you don’t hit the 8-ball?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.
Can you chip the ball in pool?
It’s legal in American-style pool but not in English-style pool. The jump shot is only allowed if you strike down into the table; you are not allowed to “scoop” the ball. They have special, shorter cues to control the jump shot and some players even practice this shot and are better than others at it.
What happens if you scratch after hitting the 8 ball in?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.
Does the 8 ball go on the dot?
The eight ball will always be placed in the center of the rack. 4. Begin on the end of the table with the racking dot. If there is not one, then pick a side you would like to rack from.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens if you miss the 8 ball on the last shot?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
if you pot the white ball ” in off ” the black ball your opponent has an extra shot .
Can you play off opponents ball in 8-ball?
After legal contact between cue ball and a legal object ball, your opponents balls are free to be hit, caromed off of, or pocketed, and there is never a foul. … If you hit their balls and don’t pocket the 8 your opponent will have ball in hand, but if you pocket the 8 your opponent will win.
Can you scratch on the break in 8 ball?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
Can you scratch on purpose in pool?
It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)
Do you have to call every shot in pool?
Eight Ball is generally played as a call shot game, which means that before you hit a ball, you must call the shot. First you pick your shot, then you say it aloud so your opponent can hear you: “Five ball in the corner pocket” or whatever the shot is that you’re about to make.
Can you leave pool balls on the table?
Absolutely! There is no real issue with storing the pool balls on the surface of the pool table. After all, balls are designed to be on the table. If you leave them racked up so they are not rolling about (a common problem if your table is not completely level) then it is completely fine to do.