- What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?
- Can you scratch after the 8 ball goes in?
- What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
- What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
- Where does the white ball go in pool?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
- Do you have to call your shot in pool?
- What happens if you dont hit your ball in pool?
- Can you hit the eight ball first?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- Can you scratch on purpose in pool?
- What happens if you scratch and make a ball?
- Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
- What happens if you touch a ball in pool?
- Can you pick up the white ball in pool?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string.
Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win.
You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack.
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game..
Can you scratch after the 8 ball goes in?
In 8-ball, if you’re trying to pocket the 8 ball, it’s loss of game. If you pocket an object ball and scratch, you lose your turn but the object ball you pocketed stays in, so scratching becomes part of the game strategy since usually a pocketed object ball is worth loss of turn.
What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
if you pot the white ball ” in off ” the black ball your opponent has an extra shot .
Where does the white ball go in pool?
During the game If you scratch on the cue ball anytime in the middle of the game you lose your turn and you will get a penalty. The penalty is that the opponent gets the ball in hand. Usually, by professional league rules, he can place the ball anywhere on the table.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. … If you fail and put the white ball into a hole, it’s considered as a mistake (SCRATCH). If you make a fault, you are punished. The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing.
Do you have to call your shot in pool?
Eight Ball is generally played as a call shot game, which means that before you hit a ball, you must call the shot. First you pick your shot, then you say it aloud so your opponent can hear you: “Five ball in the corner pocket” or whatever the shot is that you’re about to make.
What happens if you dont hit your ball in pool?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.
Can you hit the eight ball first?
BCA rules say yes, when the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
Can you scratch on purpose in pool?
It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.
What happens if you scratch and make a ball?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
Rule 1 – After the cue ball has made contact with the object ball a ball must touch a cushion after contact or the legal object ball must be potted. If the legal object is potted you do not need to hit a cushion after contact with the object ball.
What happens if you touch a ball in pool?
That is, touching or moving any ball other than the cue ball would not be a foul unless it changes the outcome of the shot by either touching another ball or having any ball, including the cue ball, going through the area originally occupied by the moved ball.
Can you pick up the white ball in pool?
In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots). When a player gets two shots, they can pick up the white ball and place it anywhere behind the line.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.